South Korea reveals 7-man roster for the 2019 Overwatch World Cup

Will South Korea become the four-time World Cup champions?

Photo by Robert Paul via Blizzard Entertainment

This article is brought to you by StatBanana, the best Overwatch strategy tool.

South Korea has introduced its seven-man roster for the 2019 Overwatch World Cup. After releasing a shortlist of 12 players last week, South Korea’s final roster includes Overwatch League stage champions and World Cup veterans.

Main tank Kim “Mano” Dong-gyu from New York Excelsior and off tank Choi “ChoiHyoBin” Hyo-bin from the San Francisco Shock will be on the frontline for South Korea at BlizzCon. Mano was a part of South Korea’s 2017 World Cup squad, while ChoiHyoBin was a component of the Shock’s stage two victory over the Vancouver Titans.

They’ll be backed up by Hangzhou Spark’s main support Park “iDK” Ho-jin and London Spitfire’s flex support Choi “Bdosin” Seung-tae. Bdosin, an Overwatch League champion, claimed the spot over season one OWL MVP Bang “JJoNak” Sung-hyeon, who skipped the World Cup to focus on the OWL season playoffs.

Previous World Cup representative and Philadelphia Fusion’s hitscan DPS player Lee “Carpe” Jae-hyeok, San Francisco Shock’s projectile DPS Park “Architect” Min-ho, and Vancouver Titan’s Genji god Kim “Haksal” Hyo-jong round out the seven-man squad. With role lock being introduced to competitive Overwatch, having flexibility in the DPS roles will be critical as teams try to find optimal compositions in this new meta.

The three-time champions will look to mount another title defense at BlizzCon this year with this strong lineup. The Koreans haven’t dropped a series at the World Cup over the last three years and have looked head and shoulders above any other nation. 

The Overwatch World Cup starts on Nov. 1.