London Spitfire officially drops four OWL players

The players were moved to the inactive roster in May.

Photo by Robert Paul via Blizzard Entertainment

Four inactive London Spitfire players have been released from the organization’s Overwatch League roster.

Jo “HaGoPeun” Heyon-woo, Hwang “TiZi” Jang-hyeon, Seong “WooHyaL” Seung-hyun, and Lee “Hooreg” Dong-eun were transferred off Cloud9’s Overwatch League roster in late May, and have not played for Spitfire since. The official announcement came on June 16 after the Overwatch League regular season concluded on June 17.

Related: London Spitfire move four players to inactive roster

Spitfire representatives said in May that it was focusing on the seven remaining players as a “smaller, core starting roster.”

The four former Spitfire players will enter free agency. The exclusive free agent signing window for new Overwatch League expansion teams begins Sept. 9 and continues through Oct. 7. On Oct. 8, the free agent signing period opens for all teams.

HaGoPeun, WooHyaL, and Hooreg were picked up by Spitfire from Korean team GC Busan, while TiZi joined from RunAway. Former London players Kim “Rascal” Dong-jun and Baek “Fissure” Chan-hyung were transferred off the team earlier in the season, to Dallas Fuel and Los Angeles Gladiators, respectively.

Related: The Overwatch League season one playoff teams are locked in

Despite a successful start to the Overwatch League’s first season, Spitfire have seen poor results in stage four. The London team finished the stage with four wins and six loses, which is in stark contrast to their stage one record of seven wins and three loses. Spitfire’s early lead still secured them a spot in the Overwatch League season playoffs, however. They’ll join New York Excelsior, Los Angeles Valiant, Boston Uprising, Los Angeles Gladiators, and Philadelphia Fusion in the playoffs, which start July 11.