All World of Warcraft expansions in order

It's been a long time.

Image via Blizzard Entertainment

World of Warcraft is a legacy title in the MMORPG genre with an expansive history in worldbuilding and storytelling. 

Originally released in 2004, WoW redefined the multiplayer experience in the early 2000s and hasn’t looked back since. Over the last two decades, Blizzard Entertainment has released a total of nine versions of WoW, while also re-releasing the first three original versions of the game in the form of Classic servers. 

This fall, WoW will enter a new era with the release of Dragonflight, the game’s ninth expansion and 10th version overall. 

With so many expansions, it’s sometimes difficult to keep track of when each was released and in what order. Here’s a quick refresher on when each expansion was launched in chronological order.

World of Warcraft (original game)November 2004
The Burning CrusadeJanuary 2007
Wrath of the Lich KingNovember 2008
CataclysmDecember 2010
Mists of PandariaSeptember 2012
Warlords of DraenorNovember 2014
LegionAugust 2016
Battle for AzerothAugust 2018
World of Warcraft Classic (legacy servers)August 2019
ShadowlandsNovember 2020
The Burning Crusade Classic (legacy servers)June 2021
Wrath of the Lich King Classic (legacy servers)September 2022
DragonflightNovember 2022