Here’s the unlock order for fighters in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

There is a method to the madness.

Image via Nintendo

When loading up Super Smash Bros. Ultimate for the first time, the starting roster might look a bit bland.

You are given just eight fighters to choose from, the same amount that was given to players in Super Smash Bros. on Nintendo 64, and you’re expected to unlock the other 60 plus characters gradually through a multitude of modes.

Related: How to unlock all of the characters in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

If you just want to play simple matches with friends, however, and have no interest in the Adventure of Classic mode, characters will unlock gradually in an specific order over time. When they appear at the end of a match, you’ll need to beat them in a one-vs.-one fight to add them to your character select screen.

Characters always unlock in this order:

  1. Ness
  2. Zelda
  3. Bowser
  4. Pit
  5. Inkling
  6. Villager
  7. Marth
  8. Young Link
  9. Wii Fit Trainer
  10. Ice Climbers
  11. Captain Falcon
  12. Peach
  13. Ryu
  14. Ike
  15. Jigglypuff
  16. King K. Rool
  17. Sonic
  18. Simon
  19. Zero Suit Samus
  20. Little Mac
  21. Isabelle
  22. Shulk
  23. Lucina
  24. Wario
  25. Ridley
  26. Pokémon Trainer
  27. Lucario
  28. Daisy
  29. Roy
  30. King Dedede
  31. R.O.B.
  32. Falco
  33. Luigi
  34. Pichu
  35. Richter
  36. Lucas
  37. Diddy Kong
  38. Meta Knight
  39. Snake
  40. Ganondorf
  41. Corrin
  42. Mega Man
  43. Bayonetta
  44. Toon Link
  45. Rosalina & Luma
  46. Incineroar 
  47. Sheik
  48. Olimar
  49. PAC-MAN
  50. Dark Samus
  51. Wolf
  52. Mr. Game & Watch
  53. Robin
  54. Dark Pit
  55. Cloud
  56. Duck Hunt
  57. Ken
  58. Greninja
  59. Chrom
  60. Mewtwo
  61. Bowser Jr.
  62. Dr. Mario
  63. Palutena

If you’ve already unlocked a character by other means, then the game will let you face off against the next fighter on the list until you unlock them all. If you fail to KO a new fighter in its battle, then you’ll need to wait for it to spawn again at a random time to have a second chance of unlocking it.

Nintendo, however, recently added a patch into the game that made the fights against characters a lot easier. Before the patch, the difficulty of some CPUs were over the top and challenging for novice players.

Now, though, you shouldn’t have a problem unlocking all these characters in order.