aerith, tifa, cloud, and yuffie, in ff7 rebirth
Image via Square Enix

How to watch the Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth State of Play livestream

What else could Square Enix be showing off?

As the next major PlayStation 5 exclusive on the release schedule, it should come as no surprise that Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is getting its very own State of Play livestream.

Recommended Videos

Everyone thought it would make an appearance during last week’s show, but Sony capped the show off with an announcement of a second State of Play about the second installment in Square Enix’s Final Fantasy 7 remake project. So, ahead of the presentation, let’s quickly run through when it’s happening, how you can watch it live, and what sort of information will be shared.

When is the Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth State of Play stream?

The presentation airs on Tuesday, Feb. 6 at 5:30pm CT. Depending on your timezone, though, it won’t air until the day after on Feb. 7, so here’s a list of all major timezones for convenience’s sake.

  • Los Angeles: 3:30pm PT on Feb. 6
  • New York: 6:30pm EST on Feb. 6
  • Brazil: 8:30pm BRT on Feb. 6
  • London: 11:30pm GMT on Feb. 6
  • India: 5am IST on Feb. 7
  • China: 7:30am CST on Feb. 7
  • Tokyo: 8:30am JST on Feb. 7
  • Australia: 10:30am AEDT on Feb. 7
  • New Zealand: 12:30pm NZDT on Feb. 7

How to watch the Final Fantasy 7 State of Play stream

Sony will air the State of Play via the official PlayStation YouTube, Twitch, and TikTok accounts. We’ve embedded the YouTube stream above, so you can watch it here once it begins.

What to expect from the Final Fantasy 7 State of Play stream

A room full of people including Vincent Valentine in FF7 Rebirth
It’d be nice if we got to see more of Vincent. Image via Square Enix

A lot has been shared about Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth, from its massive open world to its playable cast, which sadly excludes fan favorite Vincent Valentine. He will be a computer-controlled party member, but we’ve yet to see any gameplay footage involving him. Perhaps Square Enix will offer some brief clips of Vincent in battle?

Some may feel Square Enix has shown too much of Rebirth already to the point of nearly spoiling major plot points. There are a lot of pressing mysteries surrounding Rebirth and some of its characters, such as Zack Fair and, of course, big bad Sephiroth, with strong hints the story will diverge greatly from the original game. Hopefully, Square Enix will keep story details to a minimum and focus more on gameplay rather than any cutscenes.

zack carrying cloud in ff7 rebirth
Rebirth seems to be dealing with multiple timelines if all the pre-release footage is anything to go by. Image via Square Enix

A lot of already established information will likely be repeated so everyone can be caught up to speed on what to expect from Rebirth‘s gameplay. If there’s one new thing fans want to see confirmed, though, it’s a release date for a demo. Square Enix has a good track record with demos, having made ones for other titles like Final Fantasy 7 Remake and Final Fantasy 16. Plus, it’s claimed there’s evidence of a demo’s existence on the PlayStation servers and completing it will earn players an extra item for the full game (via PlayStation Game Size on X).

It’s probably safe to assume such a demo will be announced at the end of the State of Play. It also wouldn’t be surprising if the demo even launched immediately afterward. After all, there’s not much time left. The full game is scheduled to launch on Feb. 29.


Dot Esports is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more
related content
Read Article Final Fantasy XIV data miners discover Dawntrail Artifact Armor, fans blown away by graphics
Urianger looking behind him in a bar in Final Fantasy.
Read Article How to use the official FFXIV Dawntrail Benchmark
a male human character with a double-bladed sword readying an attack in the Final Fantasy 14: Dawntrail benchmark.
Read Article PlayStation Plus will suffer through a Final Fantasy purge in May
Related Content
Read Article Final Fantasy XIV data miners discover Dawntrail Artifact Armor, fans blown away by graphics
Urianger looking behind him in a bar in Final Fantasy.
Read Article How to use the official FFXIV Dawntrail Benchmark
a male human character with a double-bladed sword readying an attack in the Final Fantasy 14: Dawntrail benchmark.
Read Article PlayStation Plus will suffer through a Final Fantasy purge in May
Author
Michael Beckwith
Staff writer at Dot Esports covering all kinds of gaming news. A graduate in Computer Games Design and Creative Writing from Brunel University who's been writing about games since 2014. Nintendo fan and Sonic the Hedgehog apologist. Knows a worrying amount of Kingdom Hearts lore. Has previously written for Metro, TechRadar, and Game Rant.