CS:GO ELEAGUE Season 2 Schedule and Format Announced

In a press release on ELEAGUE’s site, the schedule and format for the second season of television-based Counter Strike: Global Offensive action was confirmed.

In a press release on ELEAGUE’s site, the schedule and format for the second season of television-based Counter-Strike: Global Offensive action was confirmed. During the first season, many night matches were hosted on the TBS network. The Friday night 10 p.m EST “showcase” matches will also continue during this season.

Both the European and American regions will host open qualifiers to allow new teams to compete in the ELEAGUE competition. The open qualifiers will be held:

  • European: Sept. 3-5
  • American: Sept. 10-12


Preliminary match rounds will begin on Sept. 7. Sixteen teams from each region will compete in single-elimination style play with only four teams advancing to the group stage from each region. The schedules for the Preliminary match rounds are as follows:

  • European: Sept. 7-8
  • American: Sept. 14-15


The group stage will then commence a month later on Oct. 21. The group stage will consist of four groups, and each group will consist of four American and European teams. The format will be double-elimination and only the top two teams will earn a playoff spot in this season. The schedule for each group is:

  • Group A: Oct. 21-22
  • Group B: Nov. 4-5
  • Group C: Nov. 11-12
  • Group D: Nov. 18-19


In a playoff showcase featuring all of the premier Counter-Strike teams, the season will conclude after an eight-team, single-elimination bracket is held. The playoff schedule will be:

  • Quarterfinals: Nov. 29-30
  • Semifinals: Dec. 2
  • Grand Finals: Dec. 3


According to ELEAGUE, the “top eight teams that earned a spot in the playoffs during ELEAGUE’s first season will automatically qualify for the group stage round in season two.” Those top eight teams are:

  • Virtus.pro
  • Fnatic
  • Mousesports
  • Natus Vincere
  • Ninjas in Pajamas
  • Astralis
  • Team EnVyUs
  • Cloud9


Also, ELEAGUE noted that teams who participated in Season One of the league will be invited to compete in the preliminary rounds for a bid at the group stage. The teams who have made it back into ELEAGUE Season Two are:

  • SK Gaming
  • G2 Esports
  • Team Liquid
  • OpTic Gaming
  • FaZe Clan
  • compLexity Gaming
  • Counter Logic Gaming
  • Echo Fox
  • NRG Esports
  • Selfless Gaming
  • Team SoloMid
  • Renegades
  • Team X (ex-SK Gaming)
  • Team Dignitas
  • FlipSid3 Tactics
  • Gambit Gaming

What do you think of the format for Season 2? Let us know in the comments below, or on our Twitter – @GAMURScom and follow us to stay up to date on all of your esports needs.