Pacific Championship Series created as combination of League’s LMS and LST

Asia isn't just about LCK and LPL.

pcs lol
Image via Riot Games

The merger between the League of Legends Master Series (LMS) and League of Legends Southeast Asia Tour (LST) was announced in September. Now, it’s been given new life as the Pacific Championship Series (PCS) debuting on Feb. 8, 2020.

The new league will consist of 10 teams from across Southeast Asia, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. Nine teams have confirmed their attendance in the PCS, with a 10th and final team yet to be announced.

  • ahq eSports Club (Taipei)
  • Alpha Esports (Taipei)
  • J Team (Taipei)
  • G-Rex Gaming (Hong Kong)
  • Hong Kong Attitude (Hong Kong)
  • Resurgence (Singapore)
  • Liyab Esports (Manila)
  • Nova Esports (Bangkok)
  • Talon (Hong Kong)

Riot said that the “diverse roster of teams will be spread across multiple cities, allowing for cross-regional rivalry rooted in local passion.” The new PCS is a blend of newcomers and familiar faces, including teams that have represented their regions in Worlds.

Related: Why the LMS and LST merger is good for the region.

The new league will feature a change in the format. Compared to previous LST seasons, the number of games will increase. Matches will be changed to best-of-one along with a double-elimination playoff. Due to the varied locations of the teams, initial efforts will focus on online competitions.

Riot Games and FunPlus Esports will co-organize and operate the league, along with Garena as the official publisher of League of Legends in the region. The PCS will be officially broadcasted in English, Mandarin, and Thai.