A space explorer in Starfield.
Image via Bethesda

Starfield countdown: Exact release time and date for standard and Xbox Game Pass launch

Use this to plan when you'll start playing the game.

Starfield, one of the most anticipated AAA games of the year, is releasing worldwide on Sept. 5/6.

Recommended Videos

Bethesda has created a legacy of crafting the most popular RPGs on the market from Skyrim, which has had about 1,000 unique versions dominate the market over the last decade, to Fallout: New Vegas, which is championed by many as a masterpiece. Bringing this tried-true, formula to space, Starfield looks to have big shoes to fill.

The Starfield hype is huge and the best part for many is this game will be available on Xbox Game Pass. If you’re one of the many people waiting to play the game, you better know the exact time and date for Starfield‘s release.

To make your life easier so you can prepare, we’ve put Starfield’s exact release time and date in multiple timezones below, alongside a live countdown.

Contents

What time does Starfield standard access go live?

A spaceship about to take off on a desert-like planet.
Image via Bethesda

If you didn’t buy the Constellation Edition of Starfield or an upgrade to the Premium Edition, you’ll have to settle for the worldwide release on Sept. 5 and 6, depending on where you live.

Here are the release dates:

  • Sept. 5, 5pm PT (Los Angeles)
  • Sept. 5, 7pm CT (Austin)
  • Sept. 5, 8pm ET (New York/Quebec)
  • Sept. 5, 9pm BRT (São Paulo)
  • Sept. 6, 1am BST (London)
  • Sept. 6, 2am CEST (Berlin)
  • Sept. 6, 10am AEST (Sydney)
  • Sept. 6, 9am JST (Tokyo)

If you’re going to play the Standard Edition of Starfield, here’s how long you’ll have to wait for its release.

Timer expired

The good news is waiting until this date will let you take full advantage of Game Pass, getting access to Starfield for an extremely low price. Given this service is charged monthly depending on how long you plan to play Bethesda’s new game, it might be more cost-efficient to simply buy the game. That being said, if you just want to give it a go then Game Pass is the way to test it out.

What time does Starfield early access went live?

Art for Starfield showing characters in space above a building.
Image via Bethesda

The release times for Starfield’s early access were as follows:

  • Aug. 31, 4pm PT (Los Angeles)
  • Aug. 31, 6pm CT (Austin)
  • Aug. 31, 7pm ET (New York/Quebec)
  • Aug. 31, 9pm BRT (São Paulo)
  • Sept. 1, 1am BST (London)
  • Sept. 1, 2am CEST (Berlin)
  • Sept. 1, 10am AEST (Sydney)
  • Sept. 1, 9am JST (Tokyo)

Purchasing the Starfield Premium Edition Upgrade allowed you to play from Aug. 31, but it cost an extra $35.

This version has other benefits too. Along with the early access window, you’ll score a story expansion, exclusive skins, the soundtrack, and a digital artbook for Starfield. This should justify some of the upgrade price tag for many gamers.


Dot Esports is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more
related content
Read Article Life on Mars: ‘Amazing’ Starfield update may have revived Bethesda’s dying star
A spacecraft in front of a setting sun in Starfield
Read Article Starfield patch notes for 1.11.33, May 15 update
The starfield logo with the words "May Update" under it on a white background.
Read Article Todd’s tease: Starfield’s Shattered Space DLC finally has a release window
Two ships pass each other in space near a star in Starfield.
Related Content
Read Article Life on Mars: ‘Amazing’ Starfield update may have revived Bethesda’s dying star
A spacecraft in front of a setting sun in Starfield
Read Article Starfield patch notes for 1.11.33, May 15 update
The starfield logo with the words "May Update" under it on a white background.
Read Article Todd’s tease: Starfield’s Shattered Space DLC finally has a release window
Two ships pass each other in space near a star in Starfield.
Author
Leonardo Biazzi
Staff writer and CS:GO lead. Leonardo has been passionate about games since he was a kid and graduated in Journalism in 2018. Before Leonardo joined Dot Esports in 2019, he worked for Brazilian outlet Globo Esporte. Leonardo also worked for HLTV.org between 2020 and 2021 as a senior writer, until he returned to Dot Esports and became part of the staff team.
Author
Gökhan Çakır
Gökhan is a Staff Writer and Fortnite Lead at Dot Esports. Gökhan graduated as an industrial engineer in 2020 and has since been with Dot Esports. As a natural-born gamer, he honed his skills to a professional level in Dota 2. Upon giving up on the Aegis of Champions in 2019, Gökhan started his writing career, covering all things gaming, while his heart remains a lifetime defender of the Ancients.
Author
Mateusz Miter
Polish Staff Writer. Mateusz previously worked for numerous outlets and gaming-adjacent companies, including ESL. League of Legends or CS:GO? He loves them both. In fact, he wonders which game he loves more every day. He wanted to go pro years ago, but somewhere along the way decided journalism was the more sensible option—and he was right.