Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Kiriko gives her fox spirit a hug.
Screengrab via Blizzard Entertainment

All Overwatch 2 ranks in order

Which way is up?

Overwatch 2 competitive ranks work very similarly to the first Overwatch game. With that being said, Overwatch 2’s rank order can be confusing to new players.

Recommended Videos

For anyone wondering, the rank order operates very similarly to the first Overwatch game, from bronze all the way to the top 500. This information is easily found within the game itself, but we’ll touch on the exact rank order of Overwatch 2 further down in the article.

In Overwatch 2, developer Blizzard changed the way that ranks are measured and represented to players. The SR of the old days has been replaced by Skill Tier Divisions, a ranked system that more closely resembles some of Blizzard’s other titles. The change is intended to make players more aware of their skill progression over a longer period of time and more accurately represent each individual’s skill.

To make things easier to understand, here are all the Overwatch 2 ranks from lowest to highest.

All OW2 ranks in order from lowest to highest

Screenshot of the ranking system within Overwatch 2.
In-game image showcasing OW2’s ranks. Screenshot via Dot Esports

There are 8 Overwatch 2 ranks in total, each with its own challenges and requirements. Players will see their rank placements change every five wins or 15 losses. Here are the Overwatch 2 ranks in order:

  • Bronze
    • Bronze 5
    • Bronze 4
    • Bronze 3
    • Bronze 2
    • Bronze 1
  • Silver
    • Silver 5
    • Silver 4
    • Silver 3
    • Silver 2
    • Silver 1
  • Gold
    • Gold 5
    • Gold 4
    • Gold 3
    • Gold 2
    • Gold 1
  • Platinum
    • Platinum 5
    • Platinum 4
    • Platinum 3
    • Platinum 2
    • Platinum 1
  • Diamond
    • Diamond 5
    • Diamond 4
    • Diamond 3
    • Diamond 2
    • Diamond 1
  • Master
    • Master 5
    • Master 4
    • Master 3
    • Master 2
    • Master 1
  • Grandmaster
    • Grandmaster 5
    • Grandmaster 4
    • Grandmaster 3
    • Grandmaster 2
    • Grandmaster 1
  • Top 500
    • If you’re placed into the Top 500, it means you’re one of the top 500 players in your region.

Overwatch 2’s Skill Tier Divisions, explained

Each Skill Tier (Bronze to Grand Master) includes five divisions. As you go higher in rank, divisions count down until you reach the next tier. For example, a Bronze 2 player who performs well and ranks up during their competitive update would rise to Bronze 1. If they rank up again, they will rise to Silver 5, starting the countdown again in this new Skill Tier. This system is similar to that of Heroes of the Storm, another Blizzard title that used countdown-based skill tiers.

Skill Tiers affect the people you can party up with. Players who are Bronze through Diamond can group up with players who are within two Skill Tiers of them. Master players can only group up with players who are within one Skill Tier, and Grandmaster players can only group up with those who are within three divisions of themselves. Players can have up to three ranks total: one for tank, one for damage, and one for support.


If your rank in the tank role is much higher than your friends’ ranks, you won’t be able to play tank with them. However, by having ranks for each of the three roles, you could still play with friends as a support or damage character if your ranks for those roles are closer to theirs.

What does the top 500 mean in Overwatch 2?

The top 500 is specifically the top 500 players within your specific region. This will be a collection of the best gamers you could be placed against as you climb the ranks. To qualify for the top 500, you’ll need to have played at least 25 competitive matches and will be at the peak of your region.

Fortunately, you can be in the top 500 no matter what your Overwatch 2 rank is. This all depends on the likelihood of your fellow OW2 gamers being a lower rank than you. But odds are, you’ll be in the Grandmaster rank area to be toward the top 500. Let’s just hope your server population is incredibly tiny, and you’ll be the first top 500 silver.

Overwatch 2 ranks, summarized

Anyone who’s played a competitive multiplayer game with a ranking system like Heroes of the Storm or League of Legends should find the Overwatch 2 ranking system very familiar.

  • Each Rank category, with the exception of Top 500, has five tiers, with five being the lowest and one being the highest
  • Ranks are as follows
    • Bronze
    • Silver
    • Gold
    • Platinum
    • Diamond
    • Master
    • Grandmaster
    • Top 500
  • Getting into the Top 500 simply means you’re one of the Top 500 performing players within your region

Now that you know all of the Overwatch 2 ranks, you’re set to start climbing that competitive ladder. Good luck!

Dot Esports is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Emily Morrow
Emily Morrow
Emily is a staff writer covering Apex Legends, Overwatch, Pokemon, and general gaming for Dot Esports. Her other bylines include Digital Trends, Screen Rant, and GameSpew. She also works as a narrative designer in games. Get in touch with her on Twitter @thepokeflute.
Image of Harrison Thomas
Harrison Thomas
CS:GO, Overwatch, and Valorant Staff Writer - Played CS:GO since 2012 and keep a close eye on other titles. Give me a game and I'll write about it. Ranks are private information. Contact
Image of Max Miceli
Max Miceli
Senior Staff Writer. Max graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a journalism and political science degree in 2015. He previously worked for The Esports Observer covering the streaming industry before joining Dot where he now helps with Overwatch 2 coverage.
Image of Michael Dawson
Michael Dawson
Michael Dawson is a skilled writer on pop culture, video games, and film/TV. He has 8+ years of experience writing on various topics and for multiple publications.
Image of Cade Davie
Cade Davie
Proud husband and cat dad, Cade has been writing about games for more than five years and playing them for almost three decades. While he'll happily play everything he can get his hands on, he's partial to games released by Airship Syndicate, FromSoftware, and Giant Squid.