Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Image via Riot Games

The Worlds 2021 groups are set

The group stage of the tournament is set.

The participants of the League of Legends World Championship’s group stage are set after the competition’s play-in stage ended. Hanwha Life Esports and Cloud9‘s wins today made them the last teams advancing to the main phase of the tournament, alongside LNG Esports and DetonatioN FocusMe.

Recommended Videos

Due to the rules, LNG and HLE could only qualify to the groups that didn’t have a squad from their region already, and there were three other LPL and LCK teams in the main phase of Worlds. Thus, LNG was placed in group D, joining Team Liquid, Gen.G, and MAD Lions. On the other hand, HLE were placed in group C, setting up intriguing clashes with Fnatic, Royal Never Give Up, and PSG Talon. 

This left Cloud9 and DFM as the remaining teams to draw. Since 100 Thieves already represented North America in group B, C9 were automatically placed in group A. There, Perkz will have a chance to take revenge against DWG KIA and FPX, who ended his runs at the previous two editions of League’s World Championship. Cloud9 will also face Rogue, the last team in their group. 

DetonatioN FocusMe is the first team from the LJL to make it this far at Worlds. Their next matches won’t be easy, however. The team ended up in group B and will clash against 100 Thieves, T1, and one of the tournament’s favorites, EDward Gaming.

Worlds 2021 continues on Monday, Oct. 11. Two previous Worlds winners, FPX and DWG KIA, will kick off the group stage at 6am CT. You can catch all the action on Riot Games’ Twitch channel

Make sure to follow us on YouTube for more esports news and analysis.

Dot Esports is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Mateusz Miter
Mateusz Miter
Freelance Writer at Dot Esports. Mateusz previously worked for numerous outlets and gaming-adjacent companies, including ESL. League of Legends or CS:GO? He loves them both. In fact, he wonders which game he loves more every day. He wanted to go pro years ago, but somewhere along the way decided journalism was the more sensible option—and he was right.