13 June 2018 - 15:09

Road to the FACEIT London Major: The format, schedule, and who's qualified

Keep track of who's still in the running for the next Valve Major.
Photo via ELEAGUE

Hundreds of teams around the world will be vying for a spot in the upcoming CS:GO Major—FACEIT London.

London will be home to the 13th Major in Counter-Strike history, almost nine months after the ELEAGUE Boston Major in January. Current Major champion Cloud9 will be defending their title from a number of top contenders hoping to dethrone them, including top contenders Astralis, previous runners-up FaZe Clan, and North American standouts Team Liquid

Related: Cloud9 conquer FaZe Clan in the ELEAGUE Major: Boston grand final

June and July will be dedicated primarily to the Minor championships, where lesser known teams will be attempting to make a name for themselves both in the online qualifiers and offline events. The teams who make it through the Minors will be given a month to prepare themselves for the first official stage of the Major championship, the New Challenger Stage.

Here's a comprehensive guide to everything you need to know about the FACEIT London Major.

The Minor Championships

Americas Minor (July 7 to 11)

  • North American Closed: To be determined June 22 to 24
  • South American Open: Nao Tem Como and Furia Esports

CIS Minor (July 10 to 13)

  • Invited: AVANGAR, Elements Pro Gaming, FlipSid3 Tactics, forZe, HellRaisers, Nemiga Gaming, pro100, and Team Spirit
  • Open: eL'quvet, HOLLYWOOD, RUNUP, chi114u, FLuffy Gangsters, Atlants Gaming, 5balls, and Syman Gaming

Asia Minor (July 16 to 20)

  • Invited: Renegades and TyLoo
  • Southeast Asia Open: Signature Gaming and 5Power Gaming
  • East Asia Open: SZ Absolute
  • Middle East Open: Uniquestars
  • Oceania Open: Tainted Minds
  • China: VG.FlashGaming

Europe Minor (July 19 to 22)

  • Invited: To be announced
  • Open: To be determined June 29 to July 1
A visual representing the arduous path through the Major qualification system.

The Major Championship

The New Challengers Stage

  • Eight Minor Champions and Eight New Challengers

The New Legends Stage

  • Eight New Legends and Eight Challenger Stage Winners

The New Champions Stage: September 20 to 23

  • Eight New Champions

The Major Competitors

The Legends – Teams who placed top-eight at the Boston Major

  • Cloud9
  • FaZe Clan
  • Natus Vincere
  • SK Gaming
  • Mousesports
  • Quantum Bellator Fire
  • G2 Esports
  • Fnatic

The New Challengers – Teams who placed eighth through 16th at the Boston Major

  • Gambit Esports
  • Vega Squadron
  • Space Soldiers
  • BIG
  • Astralis
  • Team Liquid
  • North
  • Virtus Pro

The Minor Champions – Teams who placed either top-two or first in their respective region's Minor

  • To be determined (Eight teams)

The Prize Pool Breakdown

The FACEIT London Major ($1 million)

  • First Place: $500,000
  • Second Place: $150,000
  • Third/Fourth Place: $70,000
  • Fifth-Eighth Place: $35,000
  • Ninth-16th Place: $8,750

The Minors ($50,000 per regional Minor)

  • First Place: $30,000
  • Second Place: $15,000
  • Third Place: $5,000

Notable Teams Already Eliminated

  • FlipSid3 Tactics (CIS Open Qualifier)
  • Grayhound Gaming (Oceania Open Qualifier)
  • MVP PK (East Asia Open Qualifier)
  • BOOT-dreamScape (Southeast Asia Open Qualifier)
  • Team Dignitas (North American Open Qualifier)
  • Sprout Esports (Europe Open Qualifier)
  • Team LDLC (Europe Open Qualifier)
  • Tempo Storm (Europe Open Qualifier)

This event guide will continue to be updated as more teams advance through the Minor stages and as more detailed information on the Major stages is released, including qualifying teams, stage dates, formatting, and broadcast talent.

Next Article