How to unlock flying in WoW: Shadowlands

It's a bird, it's a plane, it's a Gnome.

Image via Blizzard Entertainment

You must be frankly sick and tired of roaming around the Shadowlands by now, from the enchanted and tranquil forest of Ardenweald to the battered and beaten war-torn Maldraxxus. But don’t worry, flying is coming to World of Warcraft soon. 

In Patch 9.1, which is expected to hit the live servers in the next month or two, Blizzard Entertainment is introducing account-wide flying to the game, the developers confirmed at BlizzCon in February.

In addition to bringing a new raid, arena season, and more, the next major patch will unlock flying through a series of quests. Unlocking flying will be achieved through the 9.1 Covenant campaign.

An item called Memories of Sunless Skies, which will be unlocked early on in the campaign, will allow you to ride flying mounts on all of your 50+ characters.

You can complete the campaign now in preparation for the patch by earning the full 40 Renown (which will be bumped up to 80 in 9.1) and by completing every quest in your chosen Covenant. 

Flying will be available within the four Covenant zones—Bastion, Maldraxxus, Ardenweald, and Revendreth—but not The Maw or Oribos. All ground mounts will be usable in The Maw in Patch 9.1, though.

Riding skill levels and costs have been changed to account for the game’s level squish. Here’s the full list.

Apprentice Riding60 percentGround10 silver10
Journeyman Riding100 percentGround50 gold20
Expert Riding150 percentFlight250 gold30
Master Riding310 percentFlight5,000 gold40

Patch 9.1 is expected to go live in May.