Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Image via The Pokémon Company

What is a Noble Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus?

A new classification of Pokémon has been added.

Within the most recent trailer for Pokémon Legends: Arceus, The Pokémon Company revealed a new classification of Pokémon that players will encounter in the Hisui region—Noble Pokémon. 

Recommended Videos

Noble Pokémon are listed as special Pokémon exclusive to the Hisui region that have received some kind of “mysterious blessing.” 

Pokémon receiving blessings is a relatively common occurrence in the Hisui region. But when a particularly powerful Pokémon is granted these blessings, it’s labeled a “noble.” These Noble Pokémon are known to willingly assist the people of the region and hold powers that regular Pokémon don’t. 

We still don’t know much about these Pokémon overall since the only one shown so far has been Kleavor, a new Bug/Rock-type evolution for Scyther that’s brought on by special minerals found in the Hisui region. 

What we do know, though, is special people called Wardens are tasked with looking after Noble Pokémon. This is done by ensuring the noble’s territory is unviolated and through offerings of food and water. 

While normally peaceful and even helpful to the people of Hisui, strange phenomena taking place in Legends: Arceus have seen the nobles become hostile. This will result in the player needing to battle and rein in the powerful frenzied Pokémon. 

With this concept, Noble Pokémon, their associated Wardens, and the boosts they seem to receive are reminiscent of Totem Pokémon from Pokémon Sun and Moon. Even the imagery showed before entering a noble’s territory kind of resembles starting an Island Trial and talking with the Trial Captains. 

We might see more similarities between the two appear as details surrounding the Hisui region and the various classifications of Pokémon continue to be revealed ahead of Legends: Arceus’ launch on Jan. 28, 2022.

Dot Esports is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Cale Michael
Cale Michael
Lead Staff Writer for Dota 2, the FGC, Pokémon, Yu-Gi-Oh!, and more who has been writing for Dot Esports since 2018. Graduated with a degree in Journalism from Oklahoma Christian University and also previously covered the NBA. You can usually find him writing, reading, or watching an FGC tournament.