All new maps added for Overwatch 2

Here are all of the confirmed maps and details that Blizzard has shared.

Image via Blizzard Entertainment

Overwatch 2 is going to be a massive mix of new content being spliced into the original Overwatch’s formula, including a change to five players per team instead of six for PvP. 

Among the new content that’s been confirmed for Overwatch’s next installment are several new maps that will be added to the rotation, alongside new modes like Push.

As of now, there are eight maps that have been confirmed for Overwatch 2

  • New York City
  • Toronto
  • Rome
  • Rio de Janeiro
  • Gothenburg
  • Monte Carlo
  • India 
  • Portugal, Esperança

NYC and Rio have been confirmed as hybrid maps, meaning they’ll focus on Assault, with one team working to capture a point at the start, before transitioning into an Escort objective if the first checkpoint is taken. 

Toronto, Esperança, and Rome will focus on Push, though they could still have a secondary game mode revealed in the future. 

It’s unclear if these new maps will take the place of older maps from the original Overwatch, slot into playlists alongside them, or if Overwatch 2 will have more playlist options that will only feature certain maps in a rotation.


Cale Michael
Lead Staff Writer for Dota 2, the FGC, Pokémon, Yu-Gi-Oh!, and more who has been writing for Dot Esports since 2018. Graduated with a degree in Journalism from Oklahoma Christian University and also previously covered the NBA. You can usually find him writing, reading, or watching an FGC tournament.

Latest Articles


Jessica Scharnagle
Jessica has been an esports and gaming journalist for just over five years. She also teaches esports journalism at Rowan University. Follow her for all things gaming, @JessScharnagle on Twitter.

Latest Articles