The start and end dates for all Fortnite: Battle Royale seasons | Dot Esports

The start and end dates for all Fortnite: Battle Royale seasons

The new season of Fortnite will begin soon.

Image via Epic Games

Fortnite: Battle Royale has entered its 12th season, and players have been greeted with some new additions and subtractions to the game.

Fortnite developer Epic Games began its first season several months after the game’s release. Since then, there have been several more, including the the 12th season (labeled as Chapter 2, Season 2) that is set to begin soon. Here are all of the Fortnite: Battle Royale seasons, as well as their start and end dates.

SeasonStart dateEnd date
1Oct. 25, 2017Dec. 13, 2017
2Dec. 14, 2017Feb. 21, 2018
3Feb. 22, 2018April 30, 2018
4May 1, 2018July 12, 2018
5July 12, 2018Sept. 27, 2018
6Sept. 27, 2018Dec. 6, 2018
7Dec. 6, 2018Feb. 28, 2019
8Feb. 28, 2019May 9, 2019
9May 9, 2019Aug. 1, 2019
XAug. 1, 2019Oct. 13, 2019
Chapter 2, Season 1Oct. 15, 2019Feb. 20, 2020
Chapter 2, Season 2Feb. 20, 2020June 4, 2020

Throughout Fortnite’s 11 seasons, Epic Games has continually attempted to freshen up the game with new weapons, cosmetics, consumables, and changes to the iconic map. While they don’t always succeed—the Infinity Blade comes to mind—there are ones that catch on with fans and become popular parts of the game.

Those new additions, along with a refresh of sorts from one season to the next, is why the beginning of the new Fortnite: Battle Royale season is always such a big deal among players. Epic likely sees major spikes in players for the initial few days of a new season before the player count shrinks as players move on.

It’s unclear exactly what season 12 will bring to Fortnite over the next few months or whether fans will care for it after the exciting start period is over. But either way, the season model has consistently given fans something to look forward to every few months.