Hearthstone Global Games voting is open

Who are the teams to watch this year?

Image via Blizzard Entertainment

The Hearthstone Global Games return next month, so it’s time for each nation to pick their team.

Voting is open for the three open spots on each team. Hearthstone players can vote for their three favorites from the second to ninth highest HCT point earners from their country. The top points earner is automatically on the team as the anchor.

There are 48 countries taking part in HGG this year, from the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific regions. China isn’t on the voting site—as usual with these things, that country is doing its own thing.

But if you live in one of the other 47 countries, it’s time to get voting. Last year you could only choose one player, so there’s a lot more to consider this time around. Each player submits a short sentence to try and attract votes.

So far two of those are attracting online attention—a Slovakian player who offered the best rhyming option, and Canadian “TheJordude” who claims if he gets on the team, a girl he likes will go out with him. That’s pretty high stakes stuff, so let’s hope Canada swipes right on him just so we can find out if it’s meant to be.

There’s a lot of turnover in the team selections from last year. From the winning Czech Republic side, only Mikuláš “Pokrovac” Dio is up for selection again. Notably absent is Stanislav Cifka, the country’s most decorated player.

For beaten finalists Ukraine, the veteran pair of Aleksandr “Kolento” Malsh and Eugene “Neirea” Shumilin are back, the latter as the team’s anchor. It’s all change for the United States—James “Firebat” Kostesich, William “Amnesiac” Barton, David “Dog” Caero, and Edwin “HotMEOWTH” Cook are all out of the running. In their place is anchor David “JustSaiyan” Shan and the likes of Frank “Fr0zen” Zhang, Ant Trevino, and Muzhadil “Muzzy” Islam. The U.S. will undoubtedly still offer a strong team.

The Netherlands could end up sending the same quarter that got them to the quarterfinals with Thijs Molendijk, Louis “Mitsuhide” Bremers, and “Theo” all up for the vote. Tyler Hoang Nguyen returns as anchor, too.

Look out for Denmark this time—they have a chance to send Frederik “Hoej” Nielsen and his brother Nikolaj who’s no slouch either. Add in Simon “Crane” Raunholst, and that could be a great roster.

Voting is only open until the morning on June 12, so act fast—and collect a free pack just for taking part.