NiP set to replace pyth with Draken

The Swedish team is one of the most legendary squads in CS:GO history.

Sweden’s most famous Counter-Strike: Global Offensive team is reportedly making a roster change following a series of poor performances.

Considered one of the most successful teams in Counter-Strike history, a report by Flickshot claims that the team is looking to replace Jacob “pyth” Mourujärvi, who joined the team on Dec. 29, 2015. Current Epsilon eSports AWPer, William “draken” Sundin, is set to replace pyth, according to the report.

Pyth was instrumental in NiP’s two tournament wins in 2016, where the team took home DreamHack Malmö Masters on April 17 and IEM Oakland on Nov. 20. But the team’s success fanned out towards the end of the year, and was for the first time unable to attend a Valve Major in CS:GO after being eliminated in the main qualifiers.

The move would mean that the original core of NiP’s roster, which consists of Christopher “GeT_RiGhT” Alesund, Patrik “f0rest” Lindberg, Adam “friberg” Friberg and Rikard “Xizt” Landström, would remain unscathed for a fifth-straight year.

Acknowledged as CS:GO‘s original pioneers, NiP went set the standard of how the game was played in a professional setting. The team also set the record for longest winning streak in the history of esports by winning a total of 87 LAN maps in a row, a record that no team in any other esport has come close to shattering.

The roster move would also be the fourth in the team’s history, as the team has never seemed to be able to fill out the AWP role for a prolonged period of time.