ESL One Cologne: Event Preview

Here is your event preview for the world's largest CS:GO major event, ESL One Cologne.

Less than 24 hours remain until the beginning of ESL One Cologne 2015 which will feature 16 qualified teams from around the world. Teams will be playing at two different event locations over the course of the four day event; Group stages being held at the MMC Studios before the remaining eight teams head to the Lanxess Arena for the playoffs.

The Groups

A total of 16 teams will competing at this year’s ESL One Cologne. You can find a full list of the teams below:

Group A

Ninjas in Pyjamas

Team SoloMid


Counter Logic Gaming

Group B


Luminosity Gaming

Team Kinguin

FlipSid3 Tactics

Group C


Natus Vincere


Team eBettle

Group D



Team Immunity

The Format

In both sets of group stage matches, we will see teams play in a best of one format which allows no faults for teams that are wanting an easy qualification to the playoffs. However, as we head into the playoff matches, teams will be playing in a best of three format.

The Prize Pool

ESL One Cologne will feature a $250,000 prize pool which will be divided amongst all of the participating teams. You can find a full breakdown of the prize pool below:

  • 1st: $100,000
  • 2nd: $50,000
  • 3rd/4th: $22,000
  • 5th/8th: $10,000
  • 9th/16th: $2,000

The Broadcast Team

The broadcast team features a lot of well-known broadcast talent to keep the viewers well informed and entertained. You can find a full list of the broadcast team below:

O. J. Borg – Stage Host

William “Chobra” Cho – Desk Host

Soe Gschwind-Penski – eSports in Cinemas

Sean Charles – Reporting


Joe Miller – Caster

Leigh “Deman” Smith – Caster

Anders Blume – Caster

Auguste “Semmler” Massonnat – Caster

Lauren “Pansy” Scott – Caster

Alex “Machine” Richardson – Caster

Jason Kaplan – Caster


Robin “Fifflaren” Johansson – Analyst

Henry “HenryG” Greer – Analyst

Jason “moses” O’Toole – Analyst

Casper “cadiaN” Moller – Analyst


Janko “YNk” Paunovi? – Observer

Simon “pAn” Schumacher – Observer

The Schedule

  • Thursday, August, 20 – 13:45pm CEST: Groups (Winners bracket)
  • Friday, August, 21 – 11:45am CEST: Groups (Elimination and decider matches)
  • Saturday, August, 22 – 10:45am CEST: Quarter-finals
  • Sunday, August, 23 – 11:45am CEST: Semi-finals and Grand Final

ESL One Cologne coverage will be posted live onto the main eSportsNation Twitter account, @eSportsNation.

Be sure to keep up-to-date with all of your Counter-Strike:Global Offensive news and updates at our Twitter – @ESNCS.