12 November 2017 - 19:42

The ESL Pro League Season 6 Finals team list is complete—and defending champion G2 Esports didn't qualify

The sixth installment of the league's finals will have many new faces.
Photo via DreamHack

Twelve teams are now set to compete in the offline playoffs of ESL Pro League season six, and the defending champions won't be participating.

Six teams from Europe and North America will represent their regions in Odense, Denmark for a shot at the $750,000 prize pool. Fnatic, North, FaZe Clan, Astralis, Ninjas in Pyjamas, and HellRaisers respectively have seeds one through six for Europe, while OpTic Gaming, SK Gaming, Misfits, Team Liquid, NRG Esports, and Luminosity Gaming will have the six following seeds for North America.

Related: Astralis and FaZe Clan reach the ESL Pro League season six finals

Notable contenders who didn't qualify for the finals include Cloud9, CLG, Renegades, Natus Vincere, Team Envy, Mousesports, and most importantly, G2 Esports.

G2 won the season five finals in May over many of the world's best teams, such as SK Gaming and North, but they failed to make it through online play this time around. The Frenchmen lost their final two matches to Fnatic, giving them a 13-13 record and a lower round differential than HellRaisers (+11 to +seven)—a tough difference that could've been fixed with a few more pistol round wins.

The ESL Pro League season six finals will take place from Dec. 5 to 10, when a new Counter-Strike champion will be crowned.

Next Article