Treyarch introduces a new CoD: Black Ops 4 map, Icebreaker

We're now at 13 launch-day maps.

Image via Activision

Treyarch Studios has revealed yet another Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 map via Twitter, which will be available to players when the game launches on Oct. 12.

The latest map is Icebreaker, which is described by Treyarch as a United States nuclear submarine in the Arctic that has a uranium supply a Russian unit is attempting to salvage.

Similarly to all of the other maps the developers have shown off on Twitter over the last several days, the video showcasing the new battleground lasted just 19 seconds.

The addition of Icebreaker guarantees there will be at least 13 multiplayer maps in Black Ops 4 at launch. Some fan-favorite maps from previous titles will be remastered in Black Ops 4—Jungle, Summit, and Firing Range from Black Ops, as well as Slums from Black Ops II. They’ll be joined by new multiplayer maps Arsenal, Contraband, Frequency, Gridlock, Hacienda,
Morocco, Payload, Seaside, and now Icebreaker.

While Nuketown is confirmed for the game and would make 14, the popular map will not be available until November. There is a good chance that within the next week Treyarch will reveal more maps, though.

Even if this is the last one the developers show off through Twitter, however, more maps may not be revealed before the game’s launch, and several will certainly be added after launch through DLC updates.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 becomes available worldwide on Oct. 12.

About the author

Preston Byers

Associate editor. Co-host of the Ego Chall Podcast. Since discovering esports through the 2013 Call of Duty Championship, Preston has pursued a career in esports and journalism, most notably with Dot Esports. He graduated from Youngstown State University with a bachelor's degree in journalism in 2021.