South America to become the fourth region of the RLCS in 2019

The RLCS is set to become bigger and better.

Image via Psyonix

The Rocket League Championship Series is set to expand next year to include teams from South America, Psyonix has announced, after a wave of support for the game in the region.

Psyonix has sponsored tournaments in the South American scene in the past through organizers like Rocket Street and LVP, to see if there was any interest for the game in the region. The developer is now planning to support and sponsor more tournaments after the initial wave of success until South America is officially inducted into the RLCS sometime in 2019.

There has been no word on how the South American league will be structured at this time or which teams will take part. Psyonix will be releasing more details on its Twitter page once it has more to announce.

Currently, the RLCS only has three regions with North America, Europe, and Oceania. From these three regions, the four best teams from Europe and North America and the two best from Oceania go on to play against each other at the RLCS season finals for a shot at the world title and a large cash prize.

This year’s RLCS season six will see teams fight for a total of $1 million in prize money spread across multiple events for both league play and postseason tournaments. No news has been announced on how this money will be distributed yet.

Psyonix has not released details on how South America will be incorporated into the RLCS at this time. The region’s inclusion could see the finals expanded, or seeded spots for other regions could go to a South American team instead.