Overwatch Open: 16 Playoffs Teams Finalized

The group stage is over and now the field is set for the $300,000 LAN tournament on Sep. 25.

After a tenuous month-long group stage, we now know the final 16 teams that will compete in ELEAGUE’s Overwatch Open playoffs, a $300,000 tournament taking place on Sep. 25. There were some usual suspects and some surprises, but most importantly, a good show put on by ELEAGUE and FACEIT, showing off Overwatch‘s esport potential. 

The following sixteen teams will be traveling to the LAN in Atlanta:

Top seeds from North America

Team EnVyUs
NRG Esports

Second seeds from NA

Team Liquid

Top seeds from Europe

FaZe Clan
Luminosity Gaming

Second seeds from EU

Ninjas in Pyjamas
Team Dignitas

There were some shocks and surprises, most notably NA’s compLexity falling to Rise Nation and Method. They failed to even qualify for the event. Meanwhile, fan-favorite Brandon “Seagull” Larned and NRG Esports made it in the final qualifier and secured a top seed in Group D.

The regional finals kick off on Sep. 25 followed by a televised Grand Final on TBS on Sep. 30 featuring the top NA team vs. the top EU team. The champion will take home $100,000 of the $300,000 prize pool. Second place will win $32,000, places 3-4 will get $24,000, while places 5-6 will be awarded $18,000 and 7-16 will get $6,000 each.

Are you excited for the Overwatch Open being on TV? Let us know in the comments below and follow @GAMURScom on Twitter for further Overwatch esports coverage.