Fissure leaves Los Angeles Gladiators for Seoul Dynasty

Baek "Fissure" Chan-hyung wanted to be a part of an all-Korean roster, according to the announcement.

Photo by Robert Paul via Blizzard Entertainment

Los Angeles Gladiators’ star tank player Baek “Fissure” Chan-hyung has transferred to Seoul Dynasty ahead of Overwatch League season two.

The Los Angeles Gladiators announced Fissure’s transfer on Twitter on Aug. 20. Seoul Dynasty confirmed the transfer, too. “He brought a lot to the team and we are thankful for what he has accomplished here,” Los Angeles Gladiators director of esports Charlie Lipsie said in a statement. “We have acquiesced to his wishes to be part of a fully Korean roster, which he can find with the Dynasty.”

Fissure joined Los Angeles Gladiators in late February and helped the team through the Overwatch League rankings. The Gladiators eventually landed in first place for stage four. The Los Angeles team made it to the Overwatch League playoffs, but Fissure was absent: The team confirmed that Fissure was benched for the duration of the Overwatch League’s playoffs and replaced with Luis “iRemiix” Galarza Figueroa.

“I’ve dreamt of playing for Seoul Dynasty for a long time,” Fissure said in a statement. “I’m very excited to wear the Seoul Dynasty uniform and I will try to bring my A game for the fans.”

Seoul Dynasty needs the same boost Fissure brought to Los Angeles Gladiators. The former Lunatic-Hai squad underperformed in the Overwatch League’s inaugural season, landing themselves in eighth place in the league’s overall standings. Neither Seoul Dynasty nor Los Angeles Gladiators have announced further chances to their rosters for season two.

The Overwatch League’s signing window opened on Aug. 1, right after the league’s grand finals. Teams are able to negotiate with their current players and affiliated Contenders players, as well as trade with other teams. All inaugural season contracts expire on Sept. 9. Anyone without a new contract will become a free agent.

Expansion teams will be able to sign free agents from Sept. 9 to Oct. 7, before the unsigned player signing window opens on Oct. 9, marking the official free agency period.