12 June 2018 - 23:19

ZeRo wins the E3 Smash Bros Ultimate Invitational | E3 2018

It's our first competitive look into the brand new game.
Image via Nintendo

Today's Smash Bros. invitational pitted some of the best Melee and Wii U players from around the world against each other in gripping matches—but only one player could come out victorious.

The first match highlighted the amount of talent on the roster. The best Smash Bros. Wii U player in the world, Gonzalo "ZeRo" Barrios, teamed up with arguably the best Melee player, Adam "Armada" Lindgren, in a doubles match. They crushed their opposition with ease in the first match.

The duo were then finally forced to face each other in the next round where ZeRo came out on top, beating Armada by three stocks to one. Armada was then eliminated by fellow Melee player Justin "Plup" McGrath in the loser's bracket.

The event not only acted as a great advertisement for the latest title in the Smash Bros. series, but offered fans a great introduction into Smash Bros. esports, with some of the best players from around the world entertaining the fans with their skills and competitive prowess.

Only one person could leave victorious in the final match between ZeRo and Leonardo "MkLeo" Perez, however. ZeRo forced MkLeo down into the loser's bracket after beating his Snake in the winners finals and now everything was on the line between these two players.

MkLeo reset the bracket with an impressive 2-0 victory over ZeRo in the winners finals to set up one final best-of-three match to decide the winner of the Smash Bros. Ultimate invitational.

ZeRo took the first game with a clutch Mario play over MkLeo's Sonic to put him on match point for the second game. There, ZeRo and MkLeo chose Mario and Sonic once again in what could have been the deciding match-up. MkLeo found the win, however, to tie up the series and take the match to one final game.

In that final match, it was the Mario and Sonic match-up once again on Final Destination, the perfect stage to end the tournament. There, ZeRo came out on top to win himself the 2018 title.

Next Article