Changes are coming to the Dota 2 Pro Circuit

Here's how the 2018 to 2019 season will shake out.

Image via Valve

The Dota 2 Pro Circuit will be significantly changed come the 2018 to 2019 season. Developer Valve posted an update today detailing the changes, including everything from rosters, pro circuit points, team ownership, Minors and Majors, and event proposals.

“There are a few big changes on the way,” Valve said. “Once we begin the new competitive season, we’ll be adjusting how rosters and DPC points work, adding some regulation to an aspect of team ownership, and overhauling the qualification process for Majors and Minors.”

These changes are designed to introduce further structure to the year, while increasing roster flexibility and improving events.

Rosters and DPC points

Valve is ridding the Dota 2 season of hard roster locks. “Changing rosters during the season will no longer disqualify a team from DPC consideration,” Valve said. The points needed for The International will be tied to teams, not players. Teams will still choose five-man rosters, but will be allowed to change the lineup over the season—but there’s a catch. Each player removed from a roster will reduce the team’s point total by 20 percent. New players won’t bring on or reduce points.

“If a team plays in a Pro Circuit event without their official five-man roster, the points earned for that event will be reduced by 40 percent,” Valve added. Teams have to use four or five of their registered players in a Major or Minor qualifier. Once The International invites start going out and qualifiers begin, teams won’t be able to change their roster until the main event ends. Substitutes may be added in emergencies, but only if they’re approved by Valve.

Team ownership

Ownership conflicts will cause trouble for teams interested in attending The International. If an organization or owner owns more than one team, the team won’t be able to compete. All teams can compete in the Pro Circuit Majors and Minors leading up to next year’s The International, but ownership conflicts will need to be cleared up if they want to go to the main event.

“This includes cases in which players have financial ties to other teams,” Valve said.

Minors and Majors

Minors and Majors next year will be held in pairs, Valve said. Teams won’t be invited to qualifiers for either event; the Major qualifier will be held first, and teams that don’t qualify can enter the Minor qualifier a few days after. The winner of the Minor will get a slot in the Major event.

“All Minors must feature at least eight teams, with a minimum of one qualifier per region,” Valve said. “Majors must have at least 16 teams, with at least two qualifiers per region.”

Pro Circuit schedule

Valve released the schedule for the 2018 to 2019 season. It’s taking applications for most of the schedule, which is as follows.

  • Sept. 17 to Sept. 21: Major Qualifier
  • Sept. 23 to Sept. 26: Minor Qualifiers
  • Oct. 29 to Nov. 4: Minor Main Event
  • Nov. 8 to Nov. 19: Major Main Event

  • Nov. 26 to Nov. 30: Major Qualifiers
  • Dec. 1 to Dec. 4: Minor Qualifiers
  • Jan. 7 to Jan. 13: Minor Main Event
  • Jan 17-Jan 27: Major Main Event

  • Feb. 1 to Feb. 5: Major Qualifier
  • Feb. 7 to Feb. 10: Minor Qualifier
  • March 4 to March 10: Minor Main Event
  • March 14 to March 24: Major Main Event

  • March 28 to April 1: Major Qualifier
  • April 3 to April 6: Minor Qualifiers
  • April 22 to Apr. 28: Minor Main Event
  • May 2 to May 12: Major Main Event

  • May 15 to May 19: Major Qualifier
  • May 21 to May 24: Minor Qualifiers
  • June 10 to June 16: Minor Main Event
  • June 20 to June 30: Major Main Event

Before the new season begins, however, Dota 2 fans are looking forward to The International 8, which takes place in Vancouver, Canada from Aug. 20 to 25.