Jul 18 2015 - 11:49 pm

CEVO Season Seven Finals Preview

Season Seven of the CEVO Counter Strike: Global Offensive Pro League is coming to an end and CEVO is partnering with Major League Gaming to bring some of the best talent CS:GO has to offer to the United States.
Dot Esports
Season Seven of the CEVO Counter Strike: Global Offensive Pro League is coming to an end and CEVO is partnering with Major League Gaming to bring some of the best talent CS:GO has to offer to the United States.

 

Location and Dates

The Season Seven Finals will be played at the MLG.tv Arena in Columbus, Ohio. Beginning July 24, and ending on July 26. With doors opening to spectators at 4:15 PM Eastern on Friday.

 

Schedule

Here is the Schedule from the Official Viewer's Guide on the CEVO website.

Friday, July 24th:

4:15 PM ET / 22:15 CEST - Doors Open to Spectators

4:45 PM ET / 22:45 CEST - Pregame Show

5:00 PM ET / 23:00 CEST - Groups A & B - Match #1

7:30 PM ET / 1:30 CEST - Groups A & B - Match #2

 

Saturday, July 25th:

9:15 AM ET / 15:15 CEST - Doors Open to Spectators

9:45 AM ET / 15:45 CEST - Pregame Show

10:00 AM ET / 16:00 CEST - Groups A & B - Losers Match

12:30 PM ET / 18:30 CEST - Groups A & B - Winners Match

3:00 PM ET / 21:00 CEST - Group A - Final Match

5:30 PM ET / 23:30 CEST - Group B - Final Match

 

Sunday, July 26th:

9:15 AM ET / 15:15 CEST - Doors Open to Spectators

9:45 AM ET / 15:45 CEST - Pregame Show

10:00 AM ET / 16:00 CEST - Semifinal #1

12:30 PM ET / 18:30 CEST - Semifinal #2

3:00 PM / 21:00 CEST - Grand Finals

 

Format

The event will use what is called a Dual Tournament Group Play format. Four team will each make up the two groups. These group play matches will all be best-of-three, this decision was made “After assessing recent player/fan feedback…” said CEVO in their Viewer's Guide. The top two teams from both Group A and B will be placed into a single elimination bracket, these matches will also be best-of-three. The Grand Finals, to be played on Sunday will be a best-of-five series, with teams needing to win three maps to take home the championship.

 

Groups

Group A:

Cloud9

mousesports

Team Liquid

Counter Logic Gaming**

 

Group B:

Virtus Pro

Luminosity

Na'Vi*

Tempo Storm**

 

*fnatic was forced to withdraw from the competition due to their busy summer event schedule and Olof "olofmeister" Kajbjer's ongoing recovery from a recent ear surgery he under went. “To replace them, we've invited Natus Vincere who placed 4th in the s7 Regular Season European Conference.” Said CEVO, this also coming from their Viewer’s Guide.

**Team Envy and Ninyjas in Pajamas have both been forced to withdraw due to "unforeseen circumstances," replacing them is CLG and Tempo Storm.

 

Where to Watch and Who You Will be Listening to.

The event will be streamed on MLG.tv, specifically both playCEVO and playCEVO2 channels. Both streams will feature the same match, but from different point of views, “The main stream will feature a dedicated in-game observer, while the in-game camera on the secondary stream will be controlled by the casters. Information about alternate language streams will be announced in the coming weeks.”

 

Show Host:

Chris Puckett

Desk Host:

Scott "SirScoots" Smith

Analysts:

Spencer "Hiko" Martin

Duncan "Thooorin" Shields

Casters:

Mohan "launders" Govindasamy

Joey "Helium" Cunningham

Dustin "dusT" Mouret

Luca "misled" Graham

Henry "HenryG" Greer

Pat "Sabo" Flannigan

 

Prize Pool

1st - $30,000 + direct invite to the s8 LAN Finals

2nd - $15,000 + direct invite to the s8 LAN Finals

3rd/4th - $10,000

3rd/4th - $10,000

5th/6th - $5,000

5th/6th - $5,000

 

Tickets

At this point tickets for the event are sold out, though CEVO will make an announcement if additional tickets will be sold. Monitor our Twitter as we’ll be sure to post any updates on there.


Follow eSportsNation on Twitter for constant updates on all things eSports, including coverage of the CEVO Season Seven Finals

 

Shares
Next Article